4 counties declared disaster areas by Pres. Obama - WFSB 3 Connecticut

4 counties declared disaster areas by Pres. Obama

Posted: Updated:

President Barack Obama has declared Connecticut's four shoreline counties federal disaster areas.

The declaration applies to Fairfield, Middlesex, New Haven and New London counties.

"Getting this assistance will allow us to provide aid to our residents," Gov. Dannel Malloy said.

Malloy toured the damage-stricken area Tuesday and is expected to again tour the damage with leaders of shoreline communities.

Malloy said he has scheduled stops in Stonington, New London, Clinton, Westbrook, Madison and Guilford - all hit extremely hard when Hurricane Sandy arrived Monday.

He said he will also meet with the state utility companies to get updates on the power restoration progress.

Malloy has scheduled an 8:30 a.m. news conference to update residents on Sandy's aftermath.

Copyright 2012 WFSB (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow
Eyewitness News 3
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2014, WFSB; Hartford, CT. (A Meredith Corporation Station) and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.