Esty defeats Roraback to win 5th Congressional District - WFSB 3 Connecticut

Esty defeats Roraback to win 5th Congressional District


Democrat Elizabeth Esty defeated Republican Andrew Roraback on Tuesday to be elected to the U.S. House of Representatives 5th Congressional District.

"I want to say what a big night this has been," Esty said during her victory speech.

Democrat Chris Murphy represented the 5th Congressional District from 2006 to 2012. Murphy did not seek re-election and chose to run for the United States Senate against Republican Linda McMahon.

The attorney and mother of three said she "looks forward to working with Chris Murphy and all of our other hard working Connecticut delegation."

"We were up against the odds, but we proved in the Senate and House, Connecticut can't be bought," Esty said.

The new United States Representative said money did play a factor in the race, but it did not matter in the end.

"Money is no match for the heart and soul of the 5th District," Esty said.

During his concession speech, Roraback told his supporters that he had "no regrets" after he called Esty to concede the race.

"I am not going to stop from try make this corner of Connecticut such a good place to live," Roraback said.

Roraback served in the House of Representatives from 1995-2000 and has been in the Senate from 2001 until 2012, according to his website.

Connecticut's 5th Congressional District consists of 41 cities and towns from Hartford, Litchfield and Fairfield counties including Waterbury, Danbury, New Britain and Meriden.

Copyright 2012 WFSB (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.