13 Conn. communities hold municipal elections Monday - WFSB 3 Connecticut

13 Conn. communities hold municipal elections Monday

Posted: Updated:

Voters in 13 Connecticut communities are going to the polls on Monday to choose their mayor or first selectman and other municipal leaders.

Polls are scheduled to be open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. in the city of Groton and towns of Andover, Bethany, Union and Woodbridge. Elections are also planned in the boroughs of Bantam, Danielson, Fenwick, Jewett City, Litchfield, Newtown, Stonington and Woodmont.

Secretary of the State Denise Merrill urged voters to participate. Elected officials make decisions on budgets, schools and land planning.

She asked voters to report problems at the polls to her office or state Election Enforcement Commission by telephone, email or mobile device.

Most general elections for municipal candidates in Connecticut are scheduled for November.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow
Eyewitness News 3
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2014, WFSB; Hartford, CT. (A Meredith Corporation Station) and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.