Medal of Honor Society to honor Newtown educators - WFSB 3 Connecticut

Medal of Honor Society to honor Newtown educators


The Congressional Medal of Honor Society is in Newtown to honor the six educators killed in the December massacre at the Sandy Hook Elementary School with its highest civilian award.

The society says Rachel D'Avino, Dawn Hochsprung, Anne Marie Murphy, Lauren Rousseau, Mary Sherlach and Victoria Soto exemplified courage, sacrifice and selflessness in trying to protect students from the gunman.

The women's families will be presented with the Citizen Honors Medal during a ceremony Monday afternoon at Newtown High School.

The organization, which is made up of Medal of Honor recipients, also will present its Certificate of Commendation to all of the other teachers and staff of the Sandy Hook Elementary School.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.