Special Report: Nursing home inspection reports - WFSB 3 Connecticut

Special Report: Nursing home inspection reports

Tips when looking into long term care for a loved one Tips when looking into long term care for a loved one
  • Special ReportsMore>>

  • The silent disease: How early detection of oral cancer saved one local girl's life

    The silent disease: How early detection of oral cancer saved one local girl's life

    Tuesday, April 17 2018 12:16 PM EDT2018-04-17 16:16:36 GMT
    Kirsten Price (Source: WTOL)Kirsten Price (Source: WTOL)

    Sitting in the chair at the dentist might not be your favorite thing to do, but it can save your life. Just like it did for one local girl.

    More >

    Sitting in the chair at the dentist might not be your favorite thing to do, but it can save your life. Just like it did for one local girl.

    More >
  • What's killing our babies

    What's killing our babies

    Tuesday, April 17 2018 8:57 AM EDT2018-04-17 12:57:10 GMT
    (Source: WTOL)(Source: WTOL)
    (Source: WTOL)(Source: WTOL)

    In a special report, WTOL 11's Amanda Fay is finding out what's killing our babies. 

    More >

    In a special report, WTOL 11's Amanda Fay is finding out what's killing our babies. 

    More >
  • One mother creates pay-it-forward campaign to combat lunch shaming

    One mother creates pay-it-forward campaign to combat lunch shaming

    Tuesday, April 10 2018 3:05 PM EDT2018-04-10 19:05:32 GMT
    (Source: WTOL)(Source: WTOL)

    Finding someone to sit with you at lunch can be tough during school. But the newest struggle among some students is questioning whether what is on their plate is acceptable or not.

    More >

    Finding someone to sit with you at lunch can be tough during school. But the newest struggle among some students is questioning whether what is on their plate is acceptable or not.

    More >
(Toledo News Now) -

It's a place our loved ones embrace as they age, and we hope they get the best care.  But what is really happening behind closed doors at nursing homes? 

WTOL 11 investigated a number of Toledo nursing home inspection reports from the Ohio Department of Health. The violations have the potential to put residents in serious danger.
 
A local Toledo woman spoke to us about the nightmare her sister is currently experiencing.  We are keeping her identity hidden because she works for the same company and her sister has not yet filed an official compliant due to her current medical condition. 
 
She tells WTOL 11, "While she was in there in a nutshell she contracted a urinary tract infection, pneumonia, the blood clot in the leg she had surgery on, and is now testing positive for MRSA which she did not have previously.  She was put in a room with a woman that was positive for MRSA."
 
Stacey Premo is Program Director of the Long Term Care Ombudsman Program under ABLE (Advocates for Basic Legal Equality, Inc).  Premo says from April 2013 through April 2014 there were 563 verified complaints at nursing homes in the 10 counties it represents.  
 
Premo says, "So for nursing homes our biggest complaint is involuntary discharge.  We do receive complaints of abuse and neglect within nursing homes... sometimes there's actual harm involved and we need to make sure that the proper authorities are also involved in the investigating."
 
After digging through multiple pages of the inspection reports, we found one of the biggest offenders is Darlington Nursing and Rehabilitation Center on Darlington Road.
 
According to the reports the facility had multiple standards not being met including: Housekeeping, not providing care/services for highest well being, and not keeping drug regimen free from unnecessary drugs.
 
The facility also had 22 complaints made to the Office of the State Long Term Care Ombudsman Program.
                   
We reached out to Darlington Nursing and Rehabilitation Center who gave us this statement:

"Darlington Nursing and Rehabilitation is dedicated to the care and wellbeing of its residents and staff. We pride ourselves on the 5 star rating awarded by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. In our 2013 state survey, Darlington received only one deficiency. In 2014, we had received 6 deficiencies and zero substantiated complaints during the last 12 months. The facility has taken immediate steps to correct all deficiencies which the state has since approved.  The Ohio Department of Aging Long Term Care Ombudsman has been an asset to Darlington Nursing and Rehabilitation and the facility will continue to foster a close working relationship to serve our clients and families. Darlington Nursing and Rehabilitation will sustain its commitment to providing the highest quality care and customer service.

- Michelle L. Hoff, Darlington Nursing and Rehabilitation Center
 
       
This is not the first time we've seen a nursing home with multiple violations.  In early 2013, the state pulled Liberty Nursing Center of Toledo's license after multiple violations were found.
 
Premo says ABLE helped relocate the residents to different facilities.
 
Tips from Premo when looking into long term care for a loved one:

1. Look at the environment.
2. Pay attention to how staff interacts with residents.
3. Look at the inspection reports from the Ohio Department of Health.
 
 
To find your regional Long-term Care Ombudsman Program click here: https://aging.ohio.gov/services/ombudsman/regional.aspx 
 
A link for more information on Nursing homes in your area click here:
http://medicare.gov/nursinghomecompare/search.html

 

Follow Toledo News Now:  

Mobile users, click on the "video" button in the app to watch this story.Download our app here.

Copyright 2014 Toledo News Now. All rights reserved.

  • Special Report: Nursing home inspection reportsMore>>