Polls open in many cities and towns for primaries - WFSB 3 Connecticut


Polls open in many cities and towns for primaries

Posted: Updated:
(WFSB file photo) (WFSB file photo)

A number of towns and cities are holding primaries on Tuesday to determine who will be placed on ballots this coming November.

Ten out of the 12 races involve incumbents from both the Democratic and Republican parties.

Polls opened on Tuesday at 6 a.m. and will close at 8 p.m. Only registered Republicans and Democrats can vote.

While there is a lack of high profile local races with no U.S. Senate or governor seats up, there are some pivotal positions to be had.

Residents in Hamden are voting to fill the vacancy left behind by state House speaker Brendan Sharkey, who announced earlier this year that he won't seek reelection.

Sharkey has represented Hamden since 2001. He also presided over the General Assembly's response to the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting.

Voter turnout is expected to be low, according to the secretary of the state's office.

Secretary of the State Denise Merrill is still urging voters to come out.

If anyone encounters problems or has questions about voting, they can call the primary day hotline at 1-866-733-2463, or email elections@ct.gov.

Concerns may be reported anonymously; however, callers are asked to identify the town and polling place where the problems occurred.

Voters can click here to confirm that they are registered to vote, locate polling places and check the type of identification they need to bring with them. Voters will need valid identification like a driver's license. If not, a bank statement could work.

Candidates running in primaries Tuesday:

State Senate - 06    New Britain
*Terry Bielinski Gerratana
Sharon Beloin-Saavedra

State Senate - 22    Bridgeport    
*Thomas C. McCarthy
Marilyn V. Moore

State Senate - 23    Bridgeport
Democrat    *Dennis Bradley
Ed Gomes

Assembly District - 39    New London
*Ernest Hewett
Chris Soto

Assembly District - 63    Winchester, Colebrook, Goshen, 

*Jay M. Case 
David G. LaPointe

Assembly District - 77    Bristol

*Laura Bartok
Christy Matthews

Assembly District - 88    Hamden
Democrat    *James Pascarella
Joshua Elliott

Assembly District - 113    Shelton
*Jason Perillo 
Ruth Parkins

Assembly District - 116    West Haven
*Michael A. DiMassa
Louis P. Esposito, Jr.

Assembly District - 124    Bridgeport
*Andre F. Baker, Jr.
Charles J. Coviello, Jr.

Assembly District - 126    Bridgeport
Democrat    *Charlie Stallworth
Maria H. Pereira

Assembly District - 146    Stamford
Democrat    *Terry B. Adams
Dan Dauplaise

Registrar of Voters     New Britain
Democrat    *Michael W. Trueworthy
Lucian J. Pawlak

Registrar of Voters
West Haven
*Sherri Lepper 
Patricia Horvath

Judge of Probate to Fill Vacancy - 02    West Hartford
*Owen Eagan
Michael J. Croll

Judge of Probate to Fill Vacancy - 45    Bethel/Ridgefield
Patrick J. Walsh 
Daniel O'Grady

* - Denotes an incumbent 

Copyright 2016 WFSB (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.