NEW YORK (AP) — Tim McCarver will receive the Vin Scully Award for excellence in sports broadcasting from Fordham's WFUV Radio.

The school also announced Thursday that Jane Pauley will receive the Charles Osgood Award for excellence in broadcast Journalism and Christine Driessen will be honored for her 32 years at ESPN. The awards will be presented Oct. 1 at Fordham School of Law.

The Scully Award recognizes the legendary baseball broadcaster, who retired in 2016 after his 67th season as the "voice of the Dodgers." He started his Hall of Fame career at WFUV Radio.

McCarver says he was "glowing when I received the call from Vinny."

Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.